I got Bills, I gotta pay…so I’m gonna run, run, run, runaway!

Happy Tuesday folks!

Or not as the case may be. Let me tell you, Tuesday’s are actually my most hated day of the whole week (as most of my colleagues hear from me regularly). You see, unlike a Monday, which is blatant in it’s suckiness, Tuesday sidles up and hits you when you least expect it. With Monday, you’re ready to hate it and can go into the day fully prepared to be grumpy and bitter about the whole situation. Tuesday though, Tuesday is all like “oh hey, at least I’m not a Monday, am I right?” and pretends to be great, but then BAM, it’s halfway through Tuesday morning and you’re losing the will to live because it’s not even like it’s halfway through the week and you didn’t realise but there’s still so long to go and Tuesday is just cackling in your ear.

Though with all that being said, Tuesday is Blog Day, so I shall endeavour to try and find amusing anecdotes to bring some joy to the worst of days. This week’s post is going to herald yet more adventures of “Eleanor Tries to Adult”, so strap in.

This new set of problems started after yet another depressive episode of looking at my bank account a week after pay day and realising I’m already walking the tightrope of poverty. It was dedcided (read – I decided and bullied Ross into helping) that it was time to look at … The Bills (dun dun duuuuuuun!)

Jesus Christ, could I enjoy anything less? Like, why is this a thing I need to do? I don’t understand?! There’s suppliers and tariffs and packages and I literally have no idea what any of it means. It’s only by sheer force of internal pressure that I didn’t do what I normally do (which is just to throw it all up in the air and try and rationalise paying extra money for less stress.) But no, not this time. I am fed up of being overdrawn and I need a new couch that doesn’t collapse whenever someone sits on it, which I feel shouldn’t be too much to ask at the ripe old age of 25. This year is the start of better eating, better moving and better billing. I mean, I say that whilst slumped in my chair making my way doggedly through a packet of cheesy Doritos, but it’s the thought that counts.

There have been excel spread sheets drawn up (fully coloured-coded, obviously), various websites trawled through, a couple of mini panics and one incidence of lying on the floor and wailing pathetically. The Man Muffin and I are well known for our tendency to jump straight to anxiety and try and bury our heads in the sand, but I have to say I think we’ve done alright this time. We spent last week at the dining room table with a laptop, a printed out spread sheet and twin looks of pure terror, but we did manage to pay all the bills that were outstanding, which is a definite start. This week is going to be dedicated to researching better tariffs and doing every possible thing we can to save money. I’m not sure how well it will go as I HATE using the phone and TMM is well known for his security related panics (he’s a superstar, but he is a delicate blade of grass in the onslaught of relentless aggression of companies demanding details), but it’s got to be worth it.

I have been looking into “uSwitch” recently (check me and my bad grown up self put) which does seem to be almost suspiciously easy. Ross is going to have to be in charge of what we actually need to change (because as slightly ashamed as I am to admit it, I still don’t really know what we actually have/need to pay for – I live in a world where the water and gas is brought magically into the house by fairies), but I am going to be on hand for IT support, brow mopping and the occasional face slap when he becomes hysterical. Though if it as easy as the internet says, hopefully too many slaps won’t be required. I will update you as to how it goes and whether we end up victorious and rolling in our saved pennies, or going on the run and living in my mum’s shed so we don’t have to pay anything ever again (don’t tell anyone, but I’m secretly hoping for the latter).

In more positive news though, I am now able to plank for a whole 60 seconds (though good lord does it hurt) and I have cross trained for a total of 30 minutes. Ross is like some weird exercise Hercules and has been doing regular early (SO EARLY) morning slots – though there is nothing more hilarious than seeing him cross train in his pants and granddad slippers. At the rate this is going, we’ll be bronzed and buff for when summer comes, and (hopefully) will have even saved enough money to go to a beach somewhere and display ourselves.  

 cross trainer

The dreaded cross trainer and the pair of abandoned slippers…

We’ve also had some pals down this weekend, which was totes the loveliest. We chatted, we escaped a locked room (through much high pitched giggling and panic), watched a whole season of Ex on the Beach (simultaneously the worst and best program of all time) and then drank a disgusting amount. I was somewhat outraged that even though 6 bottles of wine were consumed by others, I suffered one of the worst hangovers after 1 bottle of Radlers (basically slightly alcoholic lemonade) and 1 glass of Caribbean Twist (slightly less alcoholic juice) which I nursed boringly throughout the night. I am obviously now made of much softer stuff than I was during my wild years of University, where hangovers were something to be laughed at and Sundays after binges could be spent being action. This Sunday I mainly got emotional at Nigella Lawson preparing a feta salad, took a trip to Aldi looking like something out of a teen zombie movie and then went to bed at about 9. My rock and roll cannot be contained.

 Escape

Look, you can barely even see the hysteria in our eyes!

Things are looking up though (considering it’s STILL Tuesday). The sun is shining more often than not now, I’m still cooking at least 3 times a week and it’s just under a month until the April Bank Holiday. One should never sneeze at the small things.

 

Leave a Reply

